Reviews

Read what our students think about us

Below you will find reviews and testimonials from current and former Black Belt Academy students and their parents in Surrey, BC and Newton, BC.

We pride ourselves on being recognized as a Top Rated Martial Arts School by Go2Karate.com.
We hope that your experience on our website is friendly and easy to use.

Are you NEW to martial arts?

Then don’t forget to check out all of the other reviews and see what others saying about our community service, martial arts instructors, programs, and much more. We take pride in teaching a high quality martial arts, offering great customer service and in our online reputation.

Are You a CURRENT Student?

Please feel free to leave Black Belt Academy a review and let others know what you think. Our school works on a referral basis and we need your help to show our community what we can do for them from Karate kids to adults.

Tara Black
March 13, 2019
    

Best thing that has every happened to my daughter. Instructors are very easy going and understanding. Everyone makes you feel welcome.

Loves it a lot and has gained self-confidence
October 16, 2018
    

Navi, age 5, started in the Basic Program this past January. He had a lot of anxiety and needed to learn to self-regulate, manage his emotions and better coordinate his movements. He has flourished in the program! He loves it a lot and gains confidence after each class. He just received his orange belt and Continue Reading

He is now a STRAIGHT A STUDENT!
October 16, 2018
    

Lucas, age 14, signed up in Sept. 2011. He is now a 2nd Degree Black Belt and is excited to test for 3rd Degree one day. Since joining he has learned to concentrate – leading to his grades improving. He is now a STRAIGHT A STUDENT!

Has more self-confidence
October 16, 2018
    

After about 16 months we see how much Ludovic, age 12, has improved. Not only his moves (kicks are higher for example) but also and most of all, his attitude. He has more self-confidence. Because of this confidence he has less anxiety at school (he is not stressed about oral presentations) and is getting more Continue Reading

Great For My Son’s Self-Discipline
October 16, 2018
    

At the onset of the program, Cameron (age 8 at the time) had trouble expressing his feelings in school. There were several phone calls from the principal. After his first year of Taekwondo he was recognized by his educators as the most improved student in his grade! He is now a 2nd Degree Black Belt.

I highly recommend Newton Black Belt Academy!
October 16, 2018
    

As a mom participating in Taekwondo with my sons, I am eternally grateful for the huge impact made on the development of my son’s lives as well as mine! My boys show respect and self control throughout all areas of their lives. I have gained confidence and we have all reached goals we didn’t think Continue Reading

Thank you Newton Black Belt Academy!
October 16, 2018
    

In the 3 years Armaan has been attending Newton Black Belt Academy, I have seen an enormous transformation in my son! He has gone from a tentative, shy boy to a disciplined, more confident young man who more comfortably asserts himself in school and many other life situations. There is no monetary value that can Continue Reading

Extremely rewarding!
May 4, 2017
    

My son James loves the helpful instructors as he has worked his way from a white belt up to now being a green belt! Now after school James has something to look forward to. Although challenging he is always encouraged to further his development, something ATA takes pride in. I strongly encourage Songahm Taekwondo lessons Continue Reading

Martial arts are not just for kids
February 4, 2015
    

After working my desk job for eighteen years, I managed to put on some extra pounds. A friend of mine suggested that I start taking martial arts instead of hitting the gym 6 days a week. I gave it a shot and a year and a half later I feel healthier and I am just Continue Reading

Increased Reflexes and Balance
February 4, 2015
    

The increases I have noticed from my eight year old son are amazing. He is faster, has better reflexes and is no longer clumsy because his balance has improved! He really is learning as well as participating in the lessons and I’m so proud of how far he’s come in such a short time. I Continue Reading

What Price for a Child’s Safety?
February 4, 2015
    

What price can one put on their child’s safety and well being? It has been wonderful to watch as our daughter is instructed in the manner of how to identify a stranger; more importantly what to do should one try to put hands on or harm our child. Through the training at , our daughter Continue Reading